SongKong Jaikoz

SongKong and Jaikoz Music Tagger Community Forum

Wanted: two-way spreadsheet interface between Songkong and Apple Music

Paul, I have been using iTunes for many years, and so far I find SongKong way better than any of the other products I’ve tried to cleanup my library.

For me there is one important function still lacking:
Now that SongKong is able to create a metadata spreadsheet, could you provide a mechanism to store the data in an edited spreadsheet back into Apple Music? Can this be done directly, or indirectly by first updating the music folders/files and then re-importing the whole lot into a new Music Library?

Background:
Most of my music library is classical music. I prefer to stay with Apple Music, in particular now that there is the work/movement option.

About half of my music is not being recognised by SongKong, so that leaves me with a lot of manual editing (e.g. moving track info to work and movement). This is hardly feasible with Apple Music or SongKong, but would be a lot easier with Microsoft Excel.

And if that cannot be done with Apple Music, are there alternatives in the Apple world that would make this possible? Plex?
I had a brief look at Doug’s iTunes applescripts, but don’t think these can help either.

I still don’t understand how the Apple Music work/movement feature works? Are these separate fields, or are these existing fields used in a different way?

Edwin

When you say Apple Music do you just mean the replacement for iTunes, or are we talking about the cloud service ?

If replacement for iTunes then Songkong can usually update existing Music although sometimes it is simpler to just create a new Music library, as long as you don’t need to preserve playcounts or ratings.