SongKong Jaikoz

SongKong and Jaikoz Music Tagger Community Forum

Sorting Question

Hi,

Jaikoz is a very impressive program! I’m just beginning to learn its features so please forgive me if this is obvious but I don’t understand why the sorting is working the way it does in the following:

As you can see, rows 21 - 37 are for Al DiMeola’s Greatest Hits Album. The first song listed, row 21 is Track number 9. This is how it came up when I sorted on Artist in the edit pane

I next tried sorting first by the Track number, then sorting on artist, then on album (all in the edit window) and the result came out the same.

I copied the artist and album from row 22 to 21 and typed 9 into the track number but this did not change the sort.

Am I doing something wrong?

Thanks,
-Mike

Jaikoz does not support mutiple column sorting, the default order is by row number which is the order the files are loaded which is operating system dependent but usually alphabetically.

In your example you have sorted by Artist which is what is displayed, when two songs have the same value for artist they the sorted by row number. I think that is a sensible default, but would would be good is if you could then sort by a second column such as trackno.

This is a long standing issue, previously I could see no way to mutiple column sorting but I shold take another look at it, if you have an idea on how you see the UI working please let me know.

Hi Paul,

I’m not a programmer (anymore) but would this work?

First, a definition of terms:

Original Sort = Sort where row number is the starting sequence (as it works today)

Incremental Sort = Sort based on the results of a prior sort.

Assumption:

Keep things simple by having the user sort a single column at a time.

Create a new temporary or hidden column (temp_sort). After the first sort, sequentially number temp_sort 1 through n.