SongKong Jaikoz

SongKong and Jaikoz Music Tagger Community Forum

Memory issue, Tagging issue

Hi, I’m not a Java programmer and don’t have an SDK, so modifying Java code is somewhat out of the question for me.

I have 12GB of RAM and get a memory error about 1000 songs in of my 20000 song collection on my Win 7 x64 machine. Furthermore, of the songs that are tagged (the 1000), I get entire albums by 2pac labelled as “Blues”, and a lot of things that are essentially a mess.

Is my case peculiar? I’m fearful that this thing completely messed up my music collection. Many, many hours put into it.

Right now I’m trying my best to type this without throwing my monitor across the room.

I tried running the program again after a restart, got the memory error but applied the save changes to again the 1000 or so songs. The “saving” process was taking WAY too long, so I canceled it. The program stopped after about 30 minutes. I went to the directories containing all my music.

80% of my songs are gone.

The 20% of the songs left are foreign characters under every tag. All a scrambled mess.

This better not be happening right now.

Okay,

So I’ve figured out that the program moved all my songs from G:\Music (my storage drive) to C:\\My Music as it worked on them. The memory error wasn’t a memory error as much as it was a space one since my SSD as the system drive is way too small to fit my music.

All the music tags are still plagued with foreign jibberish.

Please fix your program. I’m never using it again until you do.

Hi, the foreign jibberish problem is a bug in Windows 7 NOT Jaikoz, please see http://www.jthink.net/jaikozforum/posts/list/1319.page. If you look at your songs in another application such as Winamp you’ll see they display ok, and by modifying the settings as describe din the post you can get them to look okay in Windows 7 as well.