SongKong Jaikoz

SongKong and Jaikoz Music Tagger Community Forum

Cover/folder Artwork

I am new to SongKong and just started to work with the version 8.5 Faith.

When I do a Fix Songs on any of the album folders of my library, I get, as artwork two pictures, one named cover.jpg, the other named folder.jpg. I guess, they originate from two different databases, if so from which ones?

How does SongKong decide which of the two to display as album artwork? Would it decide on the one with higher resolution?

Thanks for clarification!

Primarily SongKong adds the images to the files themselves, but can addtionally write the cover art to the album folder as well, because this is useful for many applications. By default this will be folder.jpg but you can modify this in Album Artwork:Saved front cover art filename

But you have cover.jpg as well, I guess that already existed on your computer, you can check by looking at the creation time of the file, is it earlier then when you run SongKong?

SongKong looks in the following sources:

Because typically fanart.tv is best quality, then MusicBrainz, then Discogs we just use the first one found, but we wil only add artwork if you don’t already have some. This is controlled by the Save front cover embedded within song file option

Thanks for the swift reply!

I see now that the new artwork ‘folder.jpg’ is from SonKong’s search, while the existing ‘cover.jpg’ is from previously introduced files.

Thanks a lot for explaining!

So, by looking at a screenshot of Jon Coltrane’s Blue Train, SongKong tells me that the cover art has a resolution of 225 px. Which resolution is that, the one from folder.jpg or cover.jpg?

Also, in the Fix Songs Report, some of the albums are not shown with cover art but instead of are shown only as a folders. Why is that?