SongKong Jaikoz

SongKong and Jaikoz Music Tagger Community Forum

Clueless newbie questions

Hi

I’m currently using iTunes and I’m tired of its shortcomings. I’m shopping for a new app.
Yet I can understand what Jaikoz claims it does and it seems pretty good but I looking for undocumented stuff:

• is it, er…, a player as well?
  • does it manage mp3 only? I use only m4a files.
    Regards
    Nick

[quote=Nicolas Daum]Hi
is it, er…, a player as well?
[/quote]
No it isn’t, the aim of Jaikoz is to be a top class Tag Editor, if I wanted it to be a Music Player as well this could leads to design conflicts between these the two different aims. For example if your mp3 does not contain a title field iTunes uses the name of the file as the title, this is a sensible fallback position but it would be confusing if Jaikoz did this because as a tag editor I want Jaikoz to show the values actually in your metadata. Secondly I dont have the resource to do both.

The current release only supports MP3, but the next release which will be released by the end of this month has had modifications to the interface to allow it to support multiple audio formats, and will support Ogg Vorbis .
Shortly after that should have support for MP4 and Flac.

[quote=Nicolas Daum]Hi

I’m currently using iTunes and I’m tired of its shortcomings. I’m shopping for a new app.
Yet I can understand what Jaikoz claims it does and it seems pretty good but I looking for undocumented stuff:

Regards
    Nick[/quote]